Are K-Cup® Coffee Pods Gluten Free?

Posted on Thu, Jul 25, 2013

Caramel Vanilla Cream square (1)

Gluten has been a recent topic of discussion in my household. At this point, it is pure curiosity, we have not taken the plunge to a gluten-free diet. However, we are becoming more aware and beginning to notice that it is in well…pretty much everything. I downloaded several books to learn more. This, of course, has me wondering, is my coffee gluten-free?

Are There Gluten Free Keurig® K-Cup® pods?

You may have noticed that the packaging of K-Cup® coffee does not tell you much about the nutritional value. That is because there quite frankly isn’t much to say. Also, products that do not state any claims such as “gluten-free,” “sodium free,” etc. and have no nutritional impact are not required to include the standard dietary facts on their packaging.

To prove this, I sought out a K-Cup® label and found nothin’ but a bunch of zeros.

Although I was quite sure that this answered my gluten question, I looked for further confirmation from Green Mountain Coffee Roasters since they are the ultimate authority on K-Cup® pods. I found this excerpt on their FAQ page:

Do any of your K-Cup® packs contain gluten?

All of the coffees offered in K-Cup® packs are gluten and gluten byproduct-free. The Café Escapes French Vanilla Café-Au-Lait K-Cup® pack contains small amounts of wheat. The Timothy’s Lemon Blueberry Tea K-Cup® pack contains malted oats.

Tim Hortons square

There you have it, REGULAR coffees and teas are gluten-free- yay! But, NOT ALL K-cups are gluten-free, there are a few to avoid if this is a concern for you.I am entirely comfortable with advising consumers avoiding gluten to drink up and enjoy regular, decaf, flavored coffees, and teas. However, I would like to offer three areas of caution:

First, there is more and more renegade “K-Cup® pods” on the market. Keurig does not sanction these for use in their brewers. If it does not have the approved seal, Keurig nor I can speak to its contents. Look for the seal people; it’s the only way to get the real thing!

Second, Keurig® = variety = new K-Cup® flavors constantly. It seems like every time I check my email; there is an announcement of a brand new innovative coffee, tea, or other beverage. With this comes new ingredients and process’. I would strongly advise you to confirm that each new K-Cup® coffee you try falls under the gluten-free rule. You are most likely safe with regular, decaf or flavored coffees and tea. When it comes to anything that has a creamy body or sweetness, such as Brew Over Ice, you should confirm the nutritional contents.

Third, flavored coffees. Capsules are flavored with natural and artificial ingredients. The exact root of these ingredients is somewhat elusive, and those with severe gluten allergies do not have any room for error- they must know the origin of their foods and beverages. For that reason, I would recommend sticking with only non-flavored coffees.

In conclusion, those of you trying or needing to eliminate gluten from your diet; you do not have to sacrifice when it comes to your morning coffee. You can still enjoy one of life’s simple pleasures fresh, gourmet coffee!

Purchase gluten free K-Cup® coffee here:>>

 Additional resources:

Topics: Keurig K-cup FAQ's

gray bar
Keurig® Brewing for Beginners cover

Most popular posts

gray bar
Keurig® Brewing for Beginners cover
gray bar
gray bar

Heavenly flavors, remarkable fall aromas!  Hurry, it won't be around for long, order now!

5054_2D_24ct_GMCR_PumpkinSpice_5000202076

🖱️Buy Pumpkin Spice K-Cup® Coffee